Tort Claim Notice
Oregon Tort Claim Notice
In the state of Oregon it is very important to preserve your state law claims by giving proper Tort Claim notice under ORS 30.275 within 180 days if there is a possibility that you may file a lawsuit against any governmental agency. Tort claim notice preserves your Oregon State law claims. If you fail to provide tort claim notice, you may still have Federal remedies available, provided that you either settle or file your case within two years. If you fail to provide tort claim notice within 180 days, you will lose your state law claims; therefore, your case is considerably less attractive for an attorney to accept on a contingency fee basis. Some state causes of action are easier to prove than federal causes of action. Even if I am unwilling to accept your case on a contingency fee basis, I am usually willing to issue proper tort claim notice on an hourly basis, so that you have time to find an attorney to handle your case.
Disclaimer: Any legal information on this site is not necessarily updated in a timely manner; neither is it a substitute for a legal analysis in relation to your case. I do not represent you and I am not your lawyer, unless you have a fee agreement with me.